Fandom

Ice Hockey Wiki

2011–12 Wayne State Warriors women's ice hockey season

54,215pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Talk0 Share

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.

2011–12 Wayne State Warriors
Conference CHA
Ranking
USA Today/USA Hockey Magazine Not ranked
USCHO.com/CBS College Sports Not ranked
2011–12 Record
Head Coach
Seasons
« [[{{{PrevSeason}}} Wayne State Warriors |{{{PrevSeason}}}]] [[{{{NextSeason}}} Wayne State Warriors|{{{NextSeason}}}]] »

Wayne State was to begin its 13th season of women’s ice hockey on September 30, 2011. In its twelve existing seasons, the Warriors compiled a won-loss record of 138-209-29 (.406 winning percentage). In College Hockey America conference play, the program accumulated an all-time CHA mark of 48-59-7 (.452) in nine seasons. In 2007-08, Wayne State tied for the CHA regular-season title in 2007-08. [1] Senior forward Alyssa Baldin was to serve as captain for the second consecutive year. Of note, Baldin was the Warriors active scoring leader (while ranking seventh all-time in career points). Wayne State was the only Division I women’s program in Michigan.[2]

OffseasonEdit

  • May 11: Wayne State University head women’s hockey coach Jim Fetter announced the team captains for the upcoming season. Senior forward Alyssa Baldin was to serve as captain for the second consecutive year. Of note, Baldin was the Warriors active scoring leader (while ranking seventh all-time in career points). Senior Ciara Lee, senior forward Veronique Laramee-Paquette and junior forward Gina Buquet were named assistant captains.[3]
Baldin WayneState

Alyssa Baldin would have been the captain for the upcoming season.

  • May 27: Wayne State University discontinued its women’s ice hockey program. School officials declared the decision was necessary as a result of continuing reductions in the state of Michigan appropriations towards higher education.[4]

TransfersEdit

Player Position New team
Cari Coen Forward/Defense St. Cloud State Huskies[5]
Jill Szandzik Defense Mercyhurst Lakers[6]
Szandzik Mercyhurst

Szandzik in her Mercyhurst jersey.

Regular seasonEdit

StandingsEdit

Overall Conference
GP W L T PTS GF GA GP W L T GF GA
Mercyhurst 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Syracuse 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Wayne State 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Niagara 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Robert Morris 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

ScheduleEdit

Had the Warriors iced a team for the season, their designated schedule would have had them open the season versus WCHA team Ohio State. Their first conference game would have been versus the Mercyhurst Lakers on November 4

Date Opponent Location Time
Fri. 9/30/2011 Ohio State Detroit, Mich. 7:00 PM
Sat. 10/1/2011 Ohio State Detroit, Mich. 2:00 PM
Fri. 10/7/2011 Minnesota State Mankato, Minn. 7:07 PM
Sat. 10/8/2011 Minnesota State Mankato, Minn. 2:07 PM
Fri. 10/21/2011 Cornell Ithaca, N.Y. 2:00 PM
Sat. 10/22/2011 Cornell Ithaca, N.Y. 2:00 PM
Fri. 10/28/2011 Lindenwood St. Charles, Mo. 7:00 PM
Sat. 10/29/2011 Lindenwood St. Charles, Mo. 2:00 PM
Fri. 11/4/2011 Mercyhurst Detroit, Mich. 7:00 PM
Sat. 11/5/2011 Mercyhurst Detroit, Mich. 2:00 PM
Fri. 11/11/2011 Robert Morris Pittsburgh, Pa. 7:05 PM
Sat. 11/12/2011 Robert Morris Pittsburgh, Pa. 2:05 PM
Fri. 11/18/2011 St. Cloud State Detroit, Mich. 7:00 PM
Sat. 11/19/2011 St. Cloud State Detroit, Mich. 2:00 PM
Fri. 12/2/2011 Lindenwood Detroit, Mich. 7:00 PM
Sat. 12/3/2011 Lindenwood Detroit, Mich. 2:00 PM
Fri. 1/6/2012 Niagara Niagara University, N.Y. 7:00 PM
Sat. 1/7/2012 Niagara Niagara University, N.Y. 2:00 PM
Fri. 1/13/2012 Syracuse Detroit, Mich. 7:00 PM
Sat. 1/14/2012 Syracuse Detroit, Mich. 2:00 PM
Fri. 1/20/2012 Quinnipiac Hamden, Conn. 7:00 PM
Sat. 1/21/2012 Quinnipiac Hamden, Conn. 1:00 PM
Fri. 1/27/2012 Mercyhurst Erie, Pa. 7:00 PM
Sat. 1/28/2012 Mercyhurst Erie, Pa. 2:00 PM
Fri. 2/10/2012 Niagara Detroit, Mich. 7:00 PM
Sat. 2/11/2012 Niagara Detroit, Mich. 2:00 PM
Fri. 2/17/2012 Syracuse Syracuse, N.Y. 7:00 PM
Sat. 2/18/2012 Syracuse Syracuse, N.Y. 2:00 PM
Fri. 2/24/2012 Robert Morris Detroit, Mich. 7:00 PM
Sat. 2/25/2012 Robert Morris Detroit, Mich. 2:00 PM
[7]

ReferencesEdit

Also on Fandom

Random Wiki